

INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION 116th Assembly and related meetings Nusa Dua, 29 April to 4 May 2007



IMPORTANT

GRP/2007/Inf.1 16 February 2007

ELECTION OF THE BUREAUX OF THE STANDING COMMITTEES

On the occasion of the 116th Assembly in Nusa Dua, elections will take place for the members of the Bureaux of the three Standing Committees. The Bureaux play an important role in planning and directing the work of the Standing Committees, in particular by proposing subject items and co-rapporteurs for consideration by the Standing Committees. It is therefore imperative that members of the Bureaux are knowledgeable about the issues falling within the competence of the respective Standing Committee and that they are in a position to attend all Bureau sessions in the course of their mandate.

Members are reminded that the elections of Bureau members will take place in accordance with Standing Committee Rules 7-9. Each geopolitical group, of which there are currently six, shall be represented by one member and one substitute on each Bureau. The elections will take place in each Standing Committee, which shall make an effort to ensure gender balance.

Moreover, in line with past IPU practice, it can be expected that members will wish to ensure an equitable distribution of the senior posts of President and First Vice-President of the Bureaux among the geopolitical groups. This was the case when the Bureaux were first elected in 2003, and the geopolitical groups are encouraged to consult with each other ahead of the elections to determine how best to ensure an equitable distribution when the elections are held at the 116th Assembly.

Finally, Members are also reminded that a Committee officer is no longer eligible for reelection to the same post after four years in office. The following list indicates the time of the original election of each of the current members and substitutes of the Bureaux of the three Standing Committees.

FIRST STANDING COMMITTEE

President: Mr. Noumeir El-Ghanem Arab Group

(Syrian Arab Republic)

(April 2005)

Mr. Jorge Argüello (Argentina) First Vice-President:

(May 2006)

Latin American Group

Vice-Presidents: TITULAR

> Mr. Albert Ndjavé-Djoye (Gabon) Mr. Thiémelé Boa (Côte d'Ivoire)

(April 2003)

(April 2003)

Current President

Ms. Zahra Bitat (Algeria)

(April 2003)

Mr. Simon Patrice Morin Asia-Pacific Group

> (Indonesia) (April 2004)

Mr. Charanjit Singh Atwal (India)

SUBSTITUTE

(May 2006)

Mr. Vasily Likhachev Eurasia Group

African Group

Arab Group

(Russian Federation)

Mr. Bato-Zhargal Zhambalnimbuev

(Russian Federation)

(May 2006)

(April 2003)

Latin American Group Current First Vice-President

Mr. Luis Fernando Duque García

(Colombia) (April 2003)

Lord John Morris of Aberavon Twelve Plus Group

> (United Kingdom) (April 2005)

Mr. Radu Podgorean (Romania)

(April 2005)

SECOND STANDING COMMITTEE

President Mr. Alexander Fomenko Eurasia Group

(Russian Federation)

(April 2005)

First Vice-President Mr. Patrice Martin-Lalande Twelve Plus Group

> (France) (May 2006)

Vice-Presidents: TITULAR SUBSTITUTE

Ms. Nora Schimming-Chase Mr. Tierno Aliou Baniré Diallo African Group

> (Namibia) (Guinea) (April 2003) (April 2003)

Arab Group Mr. Osamah Abu Ghararah Mr. Mostafa El Said

> (Saudi Arabia) (Egypt) (May 2006) (May 2006)

Asia-Pacific Group Mr. Eduardo K. Veloso (Philippines) Mr. Grant Chapman

> (April 2003) (Australia) (April 2004)

Current President Mr. Vadim Popov (Belarus) Eurasia Group

(April 2003)

Latin American Group Mr. Luis Alberto Heber (Uruguay) Mr. Darío Vivas (Venezuela)

> (April 2003) (April 2003)

Current First Vice-President Twelve Plus Group Vacancy

THIRD STANDING COMMITTEE

President: Mr. Jay-Kun Yoo (Republic of Korea) Asia-Pacific Group

(April 2003)

First Vice-President: Ms. R. A. Kadaga (Uganda) African Group

(April 2003)

Vice-Presidents: TITULAR SUBSTITUTE

African Group Current First Vice-President Mr. A. Baghin (Ghana)

(April 2003)

Arab Group Mr. Z. Azmy (Egypt) Mr. A. El-Kadiri (Morocco)

(April 2005) (April 2003)

Asia-Pacific Group Current President Mr. J.D. Seelam (India)

(May 2006)

Eurasia Group Mr. S. Zhalybin (Kazakhstan) Mr. A. Felaliev (Tajikistan)

(April 2003) (May 2006)

Latin American Group Mr. J. Machuca (El Salvador) Mr. L. Nicolini (Uruguay)

(April 2003) (April 2005)

Twelve Plus Group Ms. B. Gadient (Switzerland) Ms. R.M. Albernaz (Portugal)

(April 2003) (October 2006)