

# INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION 116<sup>th</sup> Assembly and related meetings Nusa Dua, Bali (Indonesia), 29 April to 4 May 2007



A/116/Inf.1.rev.2 10 April 2007

# VACANCIES TO BE FILLED DURING THE 116th ASSEMBLY

#### **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

On 4 May 2007, the Governing Council will be required to elect **one member** to replace Mr. J. Jorge (Brazil), who is no longer a member of parliament (Article 23.6 of the IPU Statutes).

Candidatures from the corresponding geopolitical group - <u>the Latin American Group</u> - accompanied by a signed covering letter and a brief curriculum vitae, can be submitted up to Thursday, 3 May by 9 a.m.\*

To date the following candidature has been received:

- Mr. H. Fortes (Brazil): candidature submitted by the Parliament of Brazil.

#### SUBSIDIARY BODIES OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL OF THE INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION

Committee on the Human Rights of Parliamentarians (permanent)

On 4 May 2007, the Governing Council will be required to elect:

- (i) One titular member to fill the post left vacant by Ms. M.-J. Laloy (Belgium), who has been nominated a Regional Governor;
- (ii) One titular member to fill the post held by Mr. F.M. Drilon (Philippines), whose parliamentary mandate expires on 30 June 2007;
- (iii) One substitute member to fill the post left vacant by Ms. M.-J. Laloy (Belgium) when she was elected titular member at the 179<sup>th</sup> session of the Governing Council;
- (iv) One substitute member to fill the post held by Mr. B. Prokurica (Chile), who has resigned.

Candidatures from the corresponding geopolitical groups, accompanied by a signed covering letter and a brief curriculum vitae, can be submitted up to Thursday, 3 May by 9 a.m.\*

To date the following candidature has been received:

- Mr. N. Ávila Contreras (Chile): candidature submitted by the Parliament of Chile.

-

All candidatures should be submitted either to the IPU Secretariat at the Geneva Headquarters until the eve of the opening of the Assembly, 28 April 2007, or as of that day to the Submission and Control of Documents Service on the ground floor (Exhibition Hall) of the Bali International Conference Centre (BICC) in Nusa Dua.

# Committee on Middle East Questions (ad hoc)

On 4 May 2007, the Governing Council will be required to elect **three substitute members** to replace Ms. M. Vamvakinou (Australia) and Mr. P.R. Chavan (India), whose terms of office expire at the 180<sup>th</sup> session of the Governing Council, and one vacancy that was not filled at the 179<sup>th</sup> session.

Candidatures, accompanied by a signed covering letter and a brief curriculum vitae, can be submitted up to Thursday, 3 May by 9 a.m.\*

# Group of Facilitators for Cyprus (ad hoc)

On 4 May 2007, the Governing Council will be required to elect **one facilitator** to replace Ms. F. Al-Refaie (Egypt), who is no longer a member of parliament.

Candidatures, accompanied by a signed covering letter and a brief curriculum vitae, can be submitted up to Thursday, 3 May by 9 a.m.\*

## **ELECTION OF THE BUREAUX OF THE STANDING COMMITTEES**

On the occasion of the 116<sup>th</sup> Assembly in Nusa Dua, elections will take place for the members of the Bureaux of the three Standing Committees. The Bureaux play an important role in planning and directing the work of the Standing Committees, in particular by proposing subject items and co-rapporteurs for consideration by the Standing Committees. It is therefore imperative that members of the Bureaux are knowledgeable about the issues falling within the competence of the respective Standing Committee and that they are in a position to attend all Bureau sessions in the course of their mandate.

Members are reminded that the elections of Bureau members will take place in accordance with Standing Committee Rules 7-9. Each geopolitical group, of which there are currently six, shall be represented by one member and one substitute on each Bureau. The elections will take place in each Standing Committee, which shall make an effort to ensure gender balance.

Moreover, in line with past IPU practice, it can be expected that members will wish to ensure an equitable distribution of the senior posts of President and First Vice-President of the Bureaux among the geopolitical groups. This was the case when the Bureaux were first elected in 2003, and the geopolitical groups are encouraged to consult with each other ahead of the elections to determine how best to ensure an equitable distribution when the elections are held at the 116<sup>th</sup> Assembly.

Finally, Members are also reminded that a Committee officer is no longer eligible for reelection to the same post after four years in office. The following list indicates the time of the original election of each of the current members and substitutes of the Bureaux of the three Standing Committees.

-

<sup>\*</sup> All candidatures should be submitted either to the IPU Secretariat at the Geneva Headquarters until the eve of the opening of the Assembly, 28 April 2007, or as of that day to the Submission and Control of Documents Service on the ground floor (Exhibition Hall) of the Bali International Conference Centre (BICC) in Nusa Dua.

## FIRST STANDING COMMITTEE

President: Mr. Noumeir El-Ghanem Arab Group

(Syrian Arab Republic)

(April 2005)

First Vice-President: Mr. Jorge Argüello (Argentina) Latin American Group

(May 2006)

Vice-Presidents: TITULAR SUBSTITUTE

African Group Mr. Albert Ndjavé-Djoye (Gabon) Mr. Thiémelé Boa (Côte d'Ivoire)

> (April 2003) (April 2003)

Arab Group Current President Ms. Zahra Bitat (Algeria)

(April 2003)

Asia-Pacific Group Mr. Charanjit Singh Atwal (India) Mr. Simon Patrice Morin

> (Indonesia) (May 2006) (April 2004)

Eurasia Group Mr. Vasily Likhachev Mr. Bato-Zhargal Zhambalnimbuev

> (Russian Federation) (Russian Federation)

(May 2006) (April 2003)

Latin American Group Current First Vice-President Mr. Luis Fernando Duque García (Colombia)

(April 2003)

Twelve Plus Group Lord John Morris of Aberavon Mr. Radu Podgorean (Romania)

(United Kingdom)

(April 2005)

(April 2005)

# **SECOND STANDING COMMITTEE**

President Mr. Alexander Fomenko Eurasia Group

(Russian Federation)

(April 2005)

First Vice-President Mr. Patrice Martin-Lalande Twelve Plus Group

> (France) (May 2006)

Vice-Presidents: TITULAR SUBSTITUTE

African Group Ms. Nora Schimming-Chase Mr. Tierno Aliou Baniré Diallo

> (Namibia) (Guinea) (April 2003) (April 2003)

Mr. Osamah Abu Ghararah Arab Group Mr. Mostafa El Said

> (Saudi Arabia) (Egypt) (May 2006) (May 2006)

Mr. Eduardo K. Veloso (Philippines) Mr. Grant Chapman (Australia) Asia-Pacific Group

> (April 2004) (April 2003)

Eurasia Group Current President Mr. Vadim Popov (Belarus)

(April 2003)

Latin American Group Mr. Luis Alberto Heber (Uruquay) Mr. Darío Vivas (Venezuela)

(April 2003) (April 2003)

Twelve Plus Group Current First Vice-President Vacancy

## THIRD STANDING COMMITTEE

President: Mr. Jay-Kun Yoo (Republic of Korea) Asia-Pacific Group

(April 2003)

First Vice-President: Ms. R. A. Kadaga (Uganda) African Group

(April 2003)

Vice-Presidents: TITULAR SUBSTITUTE

African Group Current First Vice-President Mr. A. Baghin (Ghana)

(April 2003)

Arab Group Mr. Z. Azmy (Egypt) Mr. A. El-Kadiri (Morocco)

(April 2005) (April 2003)

Asia-Pacific Group Current President Mr. J.D. Seelam (India)

(May 2006)

Eurasia Group Mr. S. Zhalybin (Kazakhstan) Mr. A. Felaliev (Tajikistan)

(April 2003) (May 2006)

Latin American Group Mr. J. Machuca (El Salvador) Mr. L. Nicolini (Uruguay)

(April 2003) (April 2005)

Twelve Plus Group Ms. B. Gadient (Switzerland) Ms. R.M. Albernaz (Portugal)

(April 2003) (October 2006)