HOME -> PARLINE -> ALGERIA (Al-Majlis Al-Chaabi Al-Watani)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Al-Majlis Al-Chaabi Al-Watani (National People's Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Barlaman / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Al-Majlis Al-Chaabi Al-Watani / National People's Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Majlis al-Oumma / Council of the Nation
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 10 May 2012
Purpose of elections Unlike neighbouring countries, where Islamist parties were victorious in recent elections, the parties in the government took nearly 60 per cent of the enlarged 462-member National People's Assembly. President Abdelaziz Bouteflika's National Liberation Front won 208 seats and Prime Minister Ahmed Ouyahia's National Democratic Rally took 68. They pledged to reinforce democracy and provide more jobs and housing for the youth. The Islamic parties' relatively poor performance could be attributed in part to bitter memories of terrorism and a bloody civil war in the 1990s.

An Islamist bloc, the Green Algeria Coalition, came in third with 49 seats (see note). It had pledged a new constitution based on ''a democratic and social sovereign Algerian state, respecting Islamic values". The Socialist Forces Front (FFS, based in Algeria's Berber provinces) took part in the 2012 elections after boycotting all national elections for 15 years over alleged fraud. It came in fourth with 27 seats.

A record 146 women were elected, making Algeria the first and only Arab country where women hold more than 30 per cent of the seats in parliament. This sharp increase - from 7.7 per cent in 2007 - was due to an Organic Law which requires between 20 and 50 per cent of the candidates for parliament to be women.

The Green Algeria Coalition comprised the Movement of Society for Peace (MSP, which had left the tripartite presidential alliance in January 2012; the Islamic Renaissance Movement (Ennahda) and the National Reform Movement.
Date of previous elections: 17 May 2007

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: May 2017

Number of seats at stake: 462 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 25,800 (18,153 men, 7,647 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 29.6%

Number of parties contesting the election: 44

Number of parties winning seats: 27

Alternation of power: N/A (presidential system)

Number of parties in government: 2

Names of parties in government: National Liberation Front (FLN) and National Democratic Rally (RND)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 26 May 2012

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Mohamed Larbi Ould Khelifa (FLN)
Voter turnout
Round no 110 May 2012
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
9'339'026 (43.14%)
Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
National Liberation Front (FLN) 1'324'363 17.35
National Democratic Rally (RND) 524'057 6.86
Green Algeria Alliance (AAV) 475'049 6.22
Socialist Forces Front (FFS) 188'275 2.47
Workers' Party (PT) 283'585 3.71
Independents 671'190 8.79
Algerian National Front (FNA) 198'544 2.60
Front for Justice and Development (FJD) 232'676 3.05
Algerian Popular Movement (MPA) 165'600 2.17
El Fedjr El Jadid Party ("New Dawn", PFJ) 132'492 1.74
National Party for Solidarity and Development (PNSD) 114'372 1.50
Change Front (FC) 173'981 2.28
AHD 54 120'201 1.57
National Republican Alliance (ANR) 109'331 1.43
National Front for Social Justice (FNJS) 140'223 1.84
Union of Democratic and Social Forces (UFDS) 114'481 1.50
El Karama Party ("Dignity") 129'427 1.70
Young People's Party 102'663 1.34
Ennour El Djazairi party (" Algeria's Radiance ") 48'943 0.64
Algerian Rally (RA) 117'549 1.54
Republican Patriotic Rally (RPR) 114'651 1.50
National Hope Movement (MNE) 119'253 1.56
El-Moustakbel Front ("Future", FM) 174'708 2.29
Party of Algerian Renewal (PRA) 111'218 1.46
National Democratic Front (FND) 101'643 1.33
National Front of Independents for Concord (FNIC) 107'833 1.41
El Infitah Movement (MEI) 116'384 1.52
Movement of Free Citizens (MCL) 115'631 1.51
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
National Liberation Front (FLN) 208
National Democratic Rally (RND) 68
Green Algeria Alliance (AAV) 49
Socialist Forces Front (FFS) 27
Workers' Party (PT) 24
Independents 18
Algerian National Front (FNA) 9
Front for Justice and Development (FJD) 8
Algerian Popular Movement (MPA) 7
El Fedjr El Jadid Party ("New Dawn", PFJ) 5
National Party for Solidarity and Development (PNSD) 4
Change Front (FC) 4
AHD 54 3
National Republican Alliance (ANR) 3
National Front for Social Justice (FNJS) 3
Union of Democratic and Social Forces (UFDS) 3
El Karama Party ("Dignity") 2
Young People's Party 2
Ennour El Djazairi party (" Algeria's Radiance ") 2
Algerian Rally (RA) 2
Republican Patriotic Rally (RPR) 2
National Hope Movement (MNE) 2
El-Moustakbel Front ("Future", FM) 2
Party of Algerian Renewal (PRA) 1
National Democratic Front (FND) 1
National Front of Independents for Concord (FNIC) 1
El Infitah Movement (MEI) 1
Movement of Free Citizens (MCL) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National People's Assembly (29.05.2012)

Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union