HOME -> PARLINE -> ARGENTINA (Cámara de Diputados)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Cámara de Diputados (Chamber of Deputies)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Congreso de la nación / National Congress
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Cámara de Diputados / Chamber of Deputies
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senado / Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 25 October 2015
Purpose of elections President Cristina Fernández de Kirchner's Victory Front (FV) and its allies remained the largest force in parliament after the partial renewal of both houses. It won 59 of the 130 seats contested in the Chamber of Deputies (and now holds a total of 117 of the 257 seats) and 13 of the 24 seats contested in the Senate (holding a total of 42 of the 72 seats). The centre-right opposition coalition, "Let's Change" (Cambiemos, see note), took 38 and 6 seats respectively, for a total of 68 and 20 seats. United for a New Alternative (UNA, members of the Justicialist party who are not allied to President Kirchner), led by Mr. Sergio Massa, became the third largest force. Mr. Máximo Kirchner - the son of outgoing and former Presidents Cristina Fernández and Nestor Kirchner- entered the Chamber of Deputies for the first time, representing Santa Cruz province, the cradle of Kirchnerism. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on the economy, child allowances, unemployment benefits and pensions.

In the presidential elections, no candidates secured the required percentage of votes to be elected in the first round (45 percent of valid votes, or over 40 percent of votes and a 10-point lead over their nearest rival). In the run-off elections, held on 22 November, the Mayor of Buenos Aires, Mr. Mauricio Macri (Cambiemos), defeated former governor of Buenos Aires province, Mr. Daniel Scioli (FV), thereby-ending FV's 12-year rule. Mr. Macri - the first centre-right leader to come to power since Argentina returned to democracy in 1983 - will succeed President Cristina Fernández de Kirchner when she leaves office on 10 December after serving two consecutive terms.

The "Let's Change" coalition comprised PRO (Republican Proposal, led by Mr. Mauricio Macri), the Radical Civic Union (UCR, led by Mr. Ernesto Sanz), and the Civic Coalition (CC, led by Ms. Elisa Carrió). The coalition is co-led by the leaders of the three parties.
Date of previous elections: 27 October 2013

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: October 2017

Number of seats at stake: 130 (partial renewal)

Number of candidates: Not available.

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 23

Number of parties winning seats: 17

Alternation of power: Yes
Voter turnout
Round no 125 October 2015
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
24'021'816 (74.91%)

Notes Turnout figures for the presidential elections.
Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Victory Front (FV)
"Let's Change" (Cambiemos)
United for a New Alternative (UNA)
Civic and Social Front
Union for Cordoba
Frepam Proposal
Federal Commitment Alliance
Front of Jujuy
Formosa Broad Front
Union for a better life
Commitment with San Juan
Let's Change Rio Negro
Let's Change Salta
Encounter for Corrientes
Chubut Union All of Us
Workers' Left Front
Progressive Front
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Victory Front (FV) 59
"Let's Change" (Cambiemos) 38
United for a New Alternative (UNA) 13
Civic and Social Front 2
Union for Cordoba 2
Frepam Proposal 2
Federal Commitment Alliance 2
Front of Jujuy 2
Formosa Broad Front 2
Union for a better life 1
Commitment with San Juan 1
Let's Change Rio Negro 1
Let's Change Salta 1
Encounter for Corrientes 1
Chubut Union All of Us 1
Workers' Left Front 1
Progressive Front 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Preliminary results.

Chamber of Deputies (28.12.2015, 01.01.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union