HOME -> PARLINE -> BOLIVIA (Cámara de Diputados)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Cámara de Diputados (Chamber of Deputies)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Asamblea Legislativa Plurinacional / Plurinational Legislative Assembly
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Cámara de Diputados / Chamber of Deputies
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Cámara de Senadores / Chamber of Senators
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 12 October 2014
Purpose of elections President Evo Morales' Movement for Socialism (MAS-IPSP ) won a two-thirds majority in both chambers of the Plurinational Legislative Assembly. It took 88 seats in the 130-member Chamber of Deputies and 25 in the 36-member Senate. The Democratic Unity coalition (UD) - comprising the Social Democratic Movement (MDS ) and the National Unity Front (UNF) - took 32 seats in the Chamber and nine in the Senate. Following a law passed in 2010, which requires electoral lists to include an equal number of men and women, the 2014 elections resulted in a record number of women - 69 (up from 29) in the Chamber (53.08%) and 17 (up from 15) in the Senate (47.22%). Mr. Morales, who has been President since 2006, was re-elected for a third term (see note).

During the election campaign, the President ran on the government's record, highlighting economic growth and reduced poverty in the country. The MAS-IPSP promised to halve extreme poverty to 9% by 2020. It also promised to call a referendum on reform of the judiciary, though it did not unveil the details. UDC's presidential candidate, Mr. Samuel Doria Medina, proposed to introduce a new subsidy to eradicate extreme poverty. He also promised to restore diplomatic relations with the United States and to withdraw from the Bolivarian Alliance for the Peoples of Our America (ALBA).

The Constitution stipulates that the President can serve only two consecutive terms. In April 2013, the Constitutional Court ruled that President would be able to seek re-election in 2014. It stated President Morales' first term did not count since it was shortened due to the 2009 constitutional referendum and subsequent early presidential elections.
Date of previous elections: 6 December 2009

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: October 2019

Number of seats at stake: 130 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: Not available.

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: Not available.

Number of parties winning seats: 3

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Movement for Socialism (MAS-IPSP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 21 January 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Ms.Lilly Gabriela Montaño Viaña (MAS)
Voter turnout
Round no 112 October 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Movement for Socialism (MAS-IPSP)
National Unity Front (UNF)
Christian Democrats Party (PDC)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Movement for Socialism (MAS-IPSP) 88
National Unity Front (UNF) 32
Christian Democrats Party (PDC) 10
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Source: Plurinational Legislative Assembly (17.11.2014, 19.11.2014, 09.12.2014)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union