HOME -> PARLINE -> JORDAN (Majlis Al-Nuwaab)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Majlis Al-Nuwaab (House of Representatives)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Majlis Al-Umma / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Majlis Al-Nuwaab / House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Majlis Al-Aayan / Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 23 January 2013
Purpose of elections Pro-government independent candidates fared well in the elections to the enlarged 150-member House of Representatives. The previous House had a membership of 120. As was the case in 2010, the country's largest opposition party, the Islamic Action Front party (the political wing of the Muslim Brotherhood in Jordan), boycotted the elections.

The 2013 elections took place under the new electoral law adopted in June 2012 (revised in July, see note). Since 1989, all parliamentary elections had been held under temporary laws. The new law created 27 national seats reserved for candidates representing political parties.

The Muslim Brotherhood argued that the new electoral system favoured rural tribal areas over the urban poor and would reinforce the King's power. It also criticized the failure to move towards a constitutional monarchy with an elected prime minister. King Abdullah II dismissed the call for the constitutional amendments but promised to try a "parliamentary government system" in which the prime minister would be chosen "in consultation" with parliamentary groups.

According to the official results, 56% of the 2.3 million registered voters turned out at the polls, ranging from40% in the major cities to 70% in the rural areas. The 27 national seats went to 22 different political parties. The Islamic Centrist Party took three seats, followed by three other parties which took two seats each: the Stronger Jordan, the Homeland and the National Union Party. 18 parties took one seat each.

The 2012 electoral law provides for a mixed system: 108 seats are filled by the majority system from 45 single or multi-member districts and 27 seats are filled by the proportional representation system. In addition, 15 seats (up from 12) are reserved for women, selected from women candidates who did not win district seats.
Date of previous elections: 9 November 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 4 October 2012

Timing of election: Early elections

Expected date of next elections: January 2017

Number of seats at stake: 150 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: Over 1,500 (including 213 women)

Percentage of women candidates: About 14%

Number of parties contesting the election: 61 (for the 27 seats filled under the proportional representation system)

Number of parties winning seats: 22

Alternation of power: Not applicable (Monarchy)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 10 February 2013

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Saed Hayel Srour
Voter turnout
Round no 123 January 2013
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
1'287'760 (56.5%)

Notes Approximate figures for the number of voters.
Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Islamic Centrist Party
Stronger Jordan
The Homeland
National Union Party
National Current Party
Labour and Professionalism
Unified Front
National Unity
The People
People of Determination
Free Voice
Voice of the Nation
National Labour
Al Quds
Al Bayareq
The Dawn
Shabab Al Wifaq
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Islamic Centrist Party 3
Stronger Jordan 2
The Homeland 2
National Union Party 2
National Current Party 1
Salvation 1
Labour and Professionalism 1
Cooperation 1
Dignity 1
Unified Front 1
National Unity 1
Construction 1
The People 1
People of Determination 1
Free Voice 1
Voice of the Nation 1
National Labour 1
Al Quds 1
Al Bayareq 1
The Dawn 1
Shabab Al Wifaq 1
Citizenship 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
House of Representatives (01.01.2014)

Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union