HOME -> PARLINE -> NORWAY (Stortinget)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Stortinget (Parliament)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Stortinget / Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 9 September 2013
Purpose of elections The centre-right coalition led by the Conservative Party took a total of 96 seats in the 169-member parliament, defeating Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg's red–green coalition. Although his Labour Party remained the largest single party in the new parliament, Mr. Stoltenberg conceded defeat and announced that the outgoing coalition, which had governed the country since 2005, would step down.

During the election campaign, Conservative Party leader Ms. Erna Solberg promised tax cuts and better healthcare. The right-wing Progress Party, led by Ms. Siv Jensen, proposed to invest more of the country's financial reserves in infrastructure. On 16 October, Ms. Solberg formed a coalition government, thereby becoming the country's second woman Prime Minister. The new Cabinet comprised nine women and nine men.

- The centre-right coalition comprised the Conservative Party, the Progress Party, the Christian Democratic Party and the Liberal Party.
- The red-green coalition comprised the Labour Party, the Centre Party and the Socialist Left Party.
Date of previous elections: 14 September 2009

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: September 2017

Number of seats at stake: 169 (full renewal renewal)

Number of candidates: 4,081 (2,437 men, 1,644 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 40.28%

Number of parties contesting the election: 21

Number of parties winning seats: 8

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 2

Names of parties in government: Conservative Party and Progress Party

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 1 October 2013

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Olemic Thommessen (Conservative Party)
Voter turnout
Round no 19 September 2013
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
2'848'898 (78.23%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Labour Party
Conservative Party
Progress Party
Centre Party
Christian Democratic Party
Liberal Party
Socialist Left Party
Green Party
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Labour Party 55
Conservative Party 48
Progress Party 29
Centre Party 10
Christian Democratic Party 10
Liberal Party 9
Socialist Left Party 7
Green Party 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Parliament (23.09.2013)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union