HOME -> PARLINE -> PAKISTAN (National Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Assembly

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Majlis-E-Shoora / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 11 May 2013
Purpose of elections Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif's Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) came to power in the elections, taking 157 of the 342 seats in the National Assembly. The leading party in the outgoing government, the Pakistan People's Party Parliamentarians (PPPP), led by Mr. Bilawal Zardari Bhutto (son of President Asif Ali Zardari and former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto), came a distant second with 39 seats. Then followed the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), led by a former cricket star, Mr. Imran Khan, which took 35 seats.

Mr. Sharif had previously served as prime minister from 1990 to 1993 and again from 1997 until being ousted in a coup in October 1999. During the election campaign, he promised to tackle energy shortage by building new power plants. Meanwhile, the PPPP led a low-key campaign, apparently amid security concerns over possible Taliban attacks.

Former President Pervez Musharraf, who had led the government after seizing power in the 1999 coup until 2008, returned to Pakistan in March 2013 but was barred from contesting the elections by a court order on 30 April.

The outgoing legislature, elected in February 2008, completed its full term in March 2013 without military intervention. On 5 June, the newly-elected National Assembly elected Mr. Sharif as Prime Minister, marking the country's first transition between democratically elected civilian governments since partition from India in 1947.
Date of previous elections: 17 February 2008

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 16 March 2013

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: May 2018

Number of seats at stake: 342 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: Not available

Percentage of women candidates: Not available

Number of parties contesting the election: 111

Number of parties winning seats: 18

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 1 June 2013

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz)
Voter turnout
Round no 111 May 2013
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
46'217'482 (53.62%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N)
Pakistan People's Party Parliamentarians (PPPP)
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)
Muttahida Quami Movement (MQM)
Jamiat Ulama-e-Islam (F) (JUI-F)
Pakistan Muslim League (Functional)
Pashtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party (PMAP)
Jamaat-e-Islami Pakistan (JIP)
National Patriotic Party (NPP)
Pakistan Muslim League
Qaumi Watan Party (Sherpao)
Pakistan Muslim League (Zia-ul-Huq)
National Party
Awami Muslim League Pakistan (AMLP)
Awami Jamhuri Ittehad Pakistan (AJIP)
Awami National Party (ANP)
Balochistan National Party (Awami)
All Pakistan Muslim League (APML)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total Directly elected Reserved non-Muslims Reserved (women)
Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) 157 126 5 26
Pakistan People's Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) 39 31 1 7
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) 35 28 1 6
Independents 27 27 0 0
Muttahida Quami Movement (MQM) 23 18 1 4
Jamiat Ulama-e-Islam (F) (JUI-F) 15 11 1 3
Pakistan Muslim League (Functional) 6 5 0 1
Pashtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party (PMAP) 4 3 0 1
Jamaat-e-Islami Pakistan (JIP) 4 3 0 1
National Patriotic Party (NPP) 3 2 0 1
Pakistan Muslim League 2 2 0 0
Qaumi Watan Party (Sherpao) 1 1 0 0
Pakistan Muslim League (Zia-ul-Huq) 1 1 0 0
National Party 1 1 0 0
Awami Muslim League Pakistan (AMLP) 1 1 0 0
Awami Jamhuri Ittehad Pakistan (AJIP) 1 1 0 0
Awami National Party (ANP) 1 1 0 0
Balochistan National Party (Awami) 1 1 0 0
All Pakistan Muslim League (APML) 1 1 0 0
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Assembly (17.06.2013, 20.06.2013, 02.08.2013, 25.06.2015, 29.06.2015)

Before the first session of 1 June 2013, 19 of the 27 independent candidates -elect joined the Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz), bringing the party's tally to 176 seats in all.
As at 3 June 2013, the following 19 seats remained undecided:
- Eight of the 272 general seats (constituencies 38, 46, 83, 103, 229, 230, 237 and 254);
- One seat reserved for non-Muslims; and
- 10 seats reserved for women.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union