Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Bunge (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Bunge / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 25 October 2015
Purpose of elections The Revolutionary Party of Tanzania (CCM, effectively in power since Tanzania's independence from Britain in 1961) retained its parliamentary majority, but saw its share of seats reduced. It took 189 of the 264 directly elected seats (71%, see note 1), down from 186 of the 239 seats (78%) in the 2010 elections. The opposition Coalition of the People's Constitution (Ukawa, see note 2) took 34 seats, up from 23. Elections in Zanzibar archipelago were annulled for not being free and fair, after physical fights involving rival electoral commissioners.

In the presidential elections, the Works Minister John Magufuli (CCM) defeated former Prime Minister Edward Lowassa, who was endorsed by Ukawa. Mr. Lowassa left the CMM to join the main opposition party, Chadema, after failing to win the CCM primary for the presidential candidate in July 2015. He rejected the election results. Mr. Magufuli is due to succeed President Jakaya Kikwete (CCM), who was constitutionally barred from seeking a third term in December. Ms. Samia Hassan Suluhu will become the first woman Vice-President of the country.

During the election campaign, the major parties focused on education and health, promising free education and health insurance for all. The 2015 elections followed the postponement of a constitutional referendum, scheduled for 30 April. Ukawa, which had called in vain for reduced presidential powers and a federal system with a three-government structure (consisting of mainland Tanzania, the semi-autonomous Zanzibar archipelago and a union of the two), called for a boycott of the constitutional referendum. It was postponed indefinitely due to delays in the registration of voters.

Note 1:
In addition, there are 113 seats reserved for women (attributed to political parties in proportion to their share of the electoral vote), five members from Zanzibar (two of whom must be women), 10 members appointed by the President (five of whom must be women) and the Attorney General. The Speaker may be designated from outside Parliament and becomes a member of parliament by virtue of holding the office of Speaker.

Note 2:
Ukawa (Umoja wa Katiba ya Wananchi) comprises Chadema (Party for Democracy and Development, led by Mr. Freeman Mbowe), the Civic United Front (CUF, led by Mr. Ibrahim Lipumba), NCCR-Mageuzi (led by Mr. James Mbatia) and the National League for Democracy (NLD) led by Mr. Emmanuel Makaidi. The coalition was formed following the opposition's rejection of the constitution-making process in 2014.
Date of previous elections: 31 October 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 20 August 2015

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: October 2020

Number of seats at stake: 239 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 1,250 (1,012 men, 238 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 19%

Number of parties contesting the election: Not available.

Number of parties winning seats: 5

Alternation of power: No

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 17 November 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Job Ndugai (CCM)
Voter turnout
Round no 125 October 2015
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Revolutionary Party of Tanzania (CCM)
Chadema (Party for Democracy and Development)
Civic United Front (CUF)
ACT Wazalendo
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total Directly Elected Women seats
Revolutionary Party of Tanzania (CCM) 253 189 64
Chadema (Party for Democracy and Development) 70 34 36
Civic United Front (CUF) 42 32 10
ACT Wazalendo 1 1 0
NCCR-Mageuzi 1 1 0
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
As at 18 December 2015, members had not yet been returned for seven out of the 264 directly elected seats.
Winners had not yet been declared for three out of the 113 special seats for women

Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex:
As at 18 December 2015, there were a total of 372 members of whom 136 are women.
Breakdown for 136 women:
- 25 were elected from constituencies;
- 110 were elected under special seats for women
- 1 appointed by the President (the Deputy Speaker).

Parliament (18.12.2015, 01.01.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union