Parliamentary Chamber: House of Assembly


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for SAINT LUCIA <<<

  House of Assembly

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  27 April 1992

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in the House of Assembly on the normal expiry of the members’ term of office.

Background and outcome of elections:

  Economic issues dominated the 1992 campaign for the House of Assembly’s 17 seats. The ruling United Workers Party (UWP), led by Prime Minister John Compton, stressed that its policies had spared the country’s important tourist and banana-based industries from the worst effects of the global recession, while the main opposition Saint Lucia Labour Party (SLP), led by Mr. Julian Hunte, claimed that it was better fit to manage the economy and criticized the Prime Minister’s governing style, characterizing it as that of “benevolent dictator”. Mr. Compton countered by emphasizing that his victory was important for the continuation of the process of political union with the three other members of the Windward Islands (eastern Caribbean) Group – Dominica, Grenada, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

On polling day, the conservative UWP and the socialist SLP won all the House seats, as five years earlier, with the former raising its total by one to arrive at 11. Mr. Compton thus won a third conservative term of office as Prime Minister but declared that he would step down after his current mandate. He announced his new Cabinet on 4 May.

Round no 1 (27 April 1992): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 97,403
Voters 61,155 (62.78%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 1,877
Valid votes 59,278

Round no 1: Distribution of votes  
Political Group Candidates Votes %
United Workers Party (UWP) 17 33,580 56.6
Saint Lucia Labour Party (SLP) 17 25,601 43.2
Progressive Labour Party (PLP) 1 97 0.16

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total Gain/Loss
United Workers Party (UWP) 11 +1
Saint Lucia Labour Party (SLP) 6 -1
Progressive Labour Party (PLP) 0 =

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 17
Women: 0

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for SAINT LUCIA <<<

Copyright 1992 Inter-Parliamentary Union