Parliamentary Chamber: Saphaphuthan Ratsadon


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for THAILAND <<<

  Saphaphuthan Ratsadon

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  13 September 1992

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in the House of Representatives following the premature dissolution of this body on 29 June 1992. General elections had previously been held on 22 March 1992.

Background and outcome of elections:

  On 29 June 1992, Prime Minister Anand Panyarachun dissolved the House of Representatives and called fresh general elections for the following September. The previous elections of March 1992 had given a slim majority to a coalition of pro-military parties. General Suchinda Kraprayoon had been appointed Prime Minister although he had not been a candidate in the elections. This had led to pro-democracy demonstrations in May which had been followed by a bloody crackdown by the military. As a result of the controversy that ensued, General Suchinda was forced to resign and Mr. Anand Panyarachun was appointed in June to head a caretaker government. He had taken a series of measures to reduce the involvement of the military in politics. The Constitution was amended to that effect on 10 June.

The September elections, which were widely considered as a contest between pro-military and pro-democracy parties, saw 16 parties fielding over 2400 candidates. While the poll promised to be one of the cleanest in the country’s history, the campaign as well as the voting were marred by disturbances. Turnout was high, reaching an estimated 62% of the electorate. The results gave no single party (of the 11 that gained parliamentary representation) an overall majority. The pro-democracy Democrat Party emerged as the largest party securing 79 seats, followed by the pro-military Chart Thai Party with 77 seats. The former subsequently formed a five-party, pro-democracy coalition that mustered a working parliamentary majority of 207 seats. Mr. Chuan Leekpai, leader of the Democrat Party, was appointed by the King as Prime Minister. On 29 September, Mr. Chuan announced his new Cabinet, which included several technocrats in key positions. The Army Chief of Staff had earlier pledged the military’s resolve to respect the results of the elections. This undertaking, as well as the formation of the new Cabinet, marked a clear break in the 60-year control of Thailand’s politics by the military.


Round no 1: Distribution of votes  
Political Group Candidates
Democrat Party* 310
Chart Thai Party 197
National Development Party 236
New Aspiration Party* 243
Palang Dharma Party* 270
Social Action Party (SAP)* 156
Solidarity Party* 188
Liberal Democratic Party 236
Mass Party 148
Thai Citizens Party 153
Rassadorn Party 132

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total Gain/Loss
Democrat Party* 79 +35
Chart Thai Party 77 +3
National Development Party 60 +60
New Aspiration Party* 51 -21
Palang Dharma Party* 47 +6
Social Action Party (SAP)* 22 -9
Solidarity Party* 8 +2
Liberal Democratic Party 8 +8
Mass Party 4 +3
Thai Citizens Party 3 -4
Rassadorn Party 1 -3

  * Members of the governing coalition.

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 345
Women: 15

Distribution of seats according to age:  
25-39 years 8
30-39 years 91
40-49 years 121
50-59 years 95
60-69 years 38
70 years and over 7

Distribution of seats according to profession:

Commercial/Business 151
Politicians 116
Lawyers 40
Former government service 21
Farmers 10
Employees 7
Others 15

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for THAILAND <<<

Copyright 1992 Inter-Parliamentary Union