#### IRAN

#### Dates of Elections: 14 March and 9 May 1980

## **Purpose of Elections**

Elections were held for all the members of the first Parliament of the Islamic Republic of Iran\*.

### **Characteristics of Parliament**

The unicameral Parliament of the Islamic Republic of Iran, the National Consultative Assembly (*Majlis Choraye Melli*)\*\*, comprises 270 members elected for 4 years. According to the 1980 Constitution, the Zoroastrians and Jews have one representative each, the Assyrian and Chaldean Christians together have one representative, and the Armenian Christians of the South and North each elect one representative.

### **Electoral System**

As the Parliament was meeting for the first time since the establishment of the Islamic Republic of Iran, and in the absence of an electoral law, the elections were organized according to a system proposed by the Ministry of Interior and approved by the Council of the Revolution, which has held legislative and executive power since February 1979.

All Iranian citizens who are at least 16 years of age are entitled to vote in elections. Deputies are elected directly and by secret ballot in two rounds.

# General Political Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

The legislative elections were the first to be held in Iran since the overthrow of the monarchy. Polling results gave the Islamic Republican Party (IRP) 130 seats out of 247. Elections in 23 constituencies in Kurdistan and Baluchistan were postponed. In addition, the mandates of several Deputies were not validated by the Parliament.

\* See section Parliamentary Developments, pp. 16-17.

\*\* The official authorities of the Islamic Republic of Iran now call the Parliament the Islamic Consultative Assembly (*Majlis Choraye Eslami*).