IRAN (ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF)

Dates of Elections: 15 April and 17 May 1984

Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Islamic Consultative Assembly (*Majlis*), comprises 270 members elected for 4 years. According to the 1980 Constitution, the Zoroastrians and Jews have one representative each, the Assyrian and Chaldean Christians together have one representative, and the Armenian Christians of the South and North each elect one representative.

Electoral System

All Iranian citizens who are at least 16 years of age are entitled to vote in elections for the *Majlis*. There are no electoral registers and voters may thus cast their ballots in any polling station. Deputies are elected directly and by secret ballot in two rounds.

General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

The date of the election period was set on 18 January 1984. The Iran Freedom Movement of former Prime Minister Mehdi Bazargan boycotted the elections. There were approximately 1,200 candidates (including 17 women) for the Parliament's 270 seats. Public campaigning lasted for two weeks.

Voter turnout on election day was reportedly strong. Polling results left the Moslem clergy that supports the country's religious leader, Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini, and his Islamic policies, as the dominant political force. Although no organized political groups contested the parliamentary seats, many of the candidates had been endorsed by the Islamic Republican Party. In half of the constituencies, a second-round election was required on 17 May since no candidate obtained a majority of votes cast.

On 28 May, the newly-elected Majlis met and re-elected Mr. Hashemi Rafsanjani as Speaker.