MONGOLIA

Date of Elections: 21 June 1981

Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the members of Parliament on the normal expiry of their term of office.

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of Mongolia, the Great People's Hural, consists of 370 members elected for 5 years.

Electoral System

All citizens aged 18 and over have the right to vote, with the exception of the insane and persons serving a sentence pursuant to court decree.

Electoral lists are established at the level of *somons* (counties) and *horins* (subdivisions of towns), and made public 30 days prior to election day.

Persons meeting the same requirements as voters may be elected to all organs of State power.

Public organizations or communities of working people, trade unions, youth organizations, agricultural co-operatives and cultural associations are all entitled to put forward candidates to Parliament.

While there exists in the country only one political party—the Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party (MPRP)—non-party candidates may also run. Any number of candidates may compete within a constituency.

Each election district returns one Deputy, who is elected by absolute majority. A second ballot is held within two weeks should it occur that no candidate has obtained the necessary majority.

By-elections are held to fill parliamentary vacancies which occur between general elections.

General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

For the 1981 general elections, a total of 1,576 polling stations were set up throughout Mongolia. The election boards consisted of 52,681 representatives of Party, State and public organizations. Included among these were 15,947 members of and candidates for the

Chron. XV (1980-81)

Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party (MPRP) and 36,734 non-Party people. Of these, 9,483 were members of the Mongolian Revolutionary Youth League (MRYL) and 13,743 were women.

All 370 candidates nominated were elected. Among them were 344 members of and candidates for the MPRP and 26 non-Party people. These returns were interpreted as demonstrating the people's determination to implement successfully the great tasks in the socialist construction, outlined by the 18th MPRP Congress that was held in Ulan Bator in May 1981.

The newly-elected Parliament held its first session 29 June. Mr. Yumjaagiin Tsebendal was elected as Chairman of the Presidium of the Great People's Hural (Head of State). Mr. B. Altangerel was elected Chairman of the Great People's Hural and Mr. Jambyn Batmunkh was appointed as Chairman of the Council of Ministers.

Statistics

1. Results of the Elections

Number of registered electors.																.792,896		
Voters.						•	•				·				·	.99.9%		

2. Distribution of Deputies according to Professional Category

Represent	ativ	/es	of	the	in	telli	iger	ntsia	a ar	nd	go	veri	1-			
ment employees														.164		
Members of agricultural co-operatives													.106			
Workers.																.100
																370

3. Distribution of Deputies according to Sex

Men.			 J		-	-	-			-			280
Women.	•	•	·	•		·	·	•	·	•	•	٠	.90
													370