RWANDA

Date of Elections: September 28, 1969

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of Rwanda, the National Assembly, comprises 47 members elected for 4 years.

Elections were held in September 1969 to renew the members of the National Assembly upon the normal expiry of the legislature.

Electoral System

All citizens of either sex, of at least 18 years of age and resident in a municipality for at least 3 months are entitled to vote.

Officers, non-commissioned officers and soldiers on active service with the National Guard, members of the national and municipal police forces, persons convicted of murder, assassination or attempts against the security of the Republic, deserters and citizens deprived of paternal rights are not eligible to vote. Prisoners and the mentally deficient do not have the right to vote.

A permanent electoral roll, revised by the mayor, is established in each municipality. Voting is compulsory and is performed at home.

Every Rwandan citizen at least 21 years old, of either sex, non-polygamous and not living in concubinage, holding a certificate of completed primary studies and resident for at least 6 months in a municipality within the constituency for which he stands, is eligible for election to the National Assembly. The function of deputy is incompatible with a judicial, police, military, administrative or religious office.

Candidates for general elections stand on an independent basis or under the auspices of political parties. Lists cannot include a number of candidates greater than twice the total number of seats to be filled in the constituency, and must be signed by at least 100 electors.

Deputies are elected in each constituency by party list system with preferential vote and proportional distribution of seats between the lists. The electoral quotient is obtained by dividing the total number of valid votes by the number of seats to be filled in the constituency and by correcting the figure thus obtained up to the nearest whole number. Seats still to be filled after the first operation are distributed one by one among the lists, arranged in decreasing order of their remaining votes. The seats allocated to each list are then awarded to the candidates who polled the greatest number of votes. The candidates next in line act as substitutes should a vacancy arise during a legislature.

II Rwanda

General Political Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

Under the leadership of Mr. Gr^goire Kayibanma, President of the Republio of Rwanda since 1961 and re-elected in 1969, the *Parmehutu* (Hutu Emancipation Party) or Democratic Republican Movement, completely dominated the electoral campaign, other parties having been eliminated since 1965.

The *Parmehutu* represents the Hutu population, which is made up primarily of peasants, and includes 85 % of the Rwandese population, the 2 other ethnic groups being the Tutsi and the Twa.

Since the country's independence, the *Parmehutu* has concentrated on reducing the authority of the Tutsi high aristocracy, from which it has taken over complete control.

The $4\overline{7}$ members of the National Assembly elected in September 1969 all belong to the *Parmehutu*, as do the 12 members of Mr. Gr6goire Kayibanma's Cabinet.

Statistics

Results of the Elections

Number of registered electors	1,578,704
Voters.	1,434,977 (90 %)
Void ballot papers	. 8,276
Valid votes	.1,426,701
Votes obtained by the Parmehutu candidates	1 426 701