SUDAN

Dates of Elections: 1 to 12 April 1986

Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for 260 seats in Parliament. The People's Assembly elected in November 1981-January 1982 had been dissolved following the military coup d'Etat of April 1985*.

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of Sudan, the Constituent Assembly, consists of 301 members elected for 4 years, including 28 "graduate seats" for select representation of citizens with higher education**.

Electoral System

Any person is qualified to register on the electoral roll of a geographical constituency, or area, if he is a Sudanese at least 18 years of age who has been resident in the constituency concerned for a minimum of six months (nomads and semi-nomads are exempted from this last condition). Disqualified are the insane and persons not in full possession of their political rights.

Qualified electors who are at least 30 years of age, literate and who are not undischarged bankrupts on been previously convicted of an offence related to honour or morals may be candidates for the Constituent Assembly. Deputies are elected directly by secret ballot in one round.

General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

It will be recalled that the People's Assembly elected in November 1981-January 1982 was dissolved following the coup d'Etat of 6 April 1985. The military council then taking power promised to step down in favour of an elected civilian Government after a one-year transitional period. The Assembly chosen in April 1986 - the first multi-party elections since 1968 - would draft a new Constitution and select the Government.

•See Chronicle of Parliamentary Elections and Developments XIX (1984-1985), p. 16. "See section Parliamentary Developments, p. 15.

Chron. XX (1985-1986)

The election campaign lasted two months. Approximately 1,000 candidates of some 30 different parties, ranging across the political sprectrum, were in contention. As set on 29 December 1985, voting was held over 12 days in order to take account of all electors. Polling in 41 of the 68 southern constituencies was postponed for security reasons. Of the remaining 260 Assembly seats, the New National Umma Party (NNUP) won 100 and the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) 63. Both groups were regarded as centrist or right-wing and as favouring a more non-aligned foreign policy than previously followed.

The newly-elected Assembly held its inaugural session on 26 April. On 6 May, a Supreme Council (collegiate Head of State) was sworn in, and the formation of a Council of Ministers was announced on 15 May; it consisted mostly of NNUP and DUP members. The Prime Minister is Mr. Sadik al-Mahdi (NNUP).

Statistics

1. Results of the Elections and Distribution of Seats in the Constituent Assembly

Number of registered electors

6,000,000 (approx.)

| Political Group | Number of Seats |
|--|--------------------|
| New National Umma Party (NNUP) | .100 |
| Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) | .63 |
| National Islamic Front (NIP) | |
| Progressive People's Party (PPP) | 10 |
| Southern Sudanese Political Association (SSPA) | 8 |
| Sudanese National Party (SNP) | |
| Sudan African People's Congress | . 7 |
| Others | <u>13</u> |
| | 260* |

* Voting in 41 constituencies indefinitely postponed.