Y KM F.N

Date of Elections: 5 July 1988

Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for 128 seats of the new Parliament provided for to replace the all-appointed Constituent People's Assembly.

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament, or Consultative Council, of Yemen, the *Majlis al Chura*, comprises 159 members: 128 elected and 31 appointed by the Head of State. All members have 4-year terms of office.

Electoral System

All citizens residing in Yemen who are at least 18 years of age are entitled to vote.

Literate citizens aged 25 or more who are of good moral character and observing religious principles are eligible to be elected to the Consultative Council unless they have been convicted, without rehabilitation, for an immoral act. The parliamentary mandate is incompatible with active duty in the civil service.

Council vacancies between general elections are filled through by-elections held within a period of two months. No such elections are held when vacancies arise within the last six months of the parliamentary term.

Background and Outcome of the Elections

As the Consultative Council replaced the former, appointed Constituent People's Assembly*, the 1988 parliamentary elections were the first to be held in Yemen.

Some 1,300 candidates contested the Council's 128 elective seats, two to 45 per constituency. Since political parties were banned, all ran as independents putting forward individual programmes. The final candidates' list was published on 3 July, following approval by the Superior Electoral Committee.

Of the 1,113,000 registered electors, only approximately 30,000 were women. On polling day, about one-fourth of the seats were won by candidates sympathetic to the Moslem Brotherhood. Tribal candidates for their part captured some 40 seats. All those elected to the Council were male.

On 17 July, the newly-elected Parliament chose Colonel Ali Abdullah Saleh as President of the Republic for what was to be his third five-year term. On 31 July, Prime Minister Abdel Aziz Abdel Ghani was reappointed as head of a new Cabinet.

* See Chronicle of Parliamentary Elections and Developments XII (1977-1978), p. 36.

Chron. XXIII (1988-1989)