#### ZAIRE

**Date of Elections:** November 2, 1975

## **Purpose of Elections**

Elections were held for all the members of Parliament on the normal expiry of their term of office.

### **Characteristics of Parliament**

The unicameral Parliament of the Republic of Zaire, the Legislative Council (*Conseil Mgislatif*) has 244 members, one for every 100,000 of the country's inhabitants and one for each fraction of the population equal or superior to 50,000. All members, known as People's Commissioners (*Commissaires du Peuple*), are elected for 5 years.

# **Electoral System**

In accordance with the Electoral Law of 1975, all citizens of Zaire aged 18 years or more who have resided in a constituency for at least one year may vote in that same constituency if they are not, on election day, imprisoned, confined because of mental derangement or residing abroad.

Electoral registers are revised before each election at the level of the local community or zone. Voting is not compulsory.

All qualified electors at least 25 years of age are eligible for the Legislative Council. Members of the armed forces and civil servants must resign their offices if they stand for election.

Candidates belong to the *Mouvement pojndaire de la rivolution* (MPR), the country's sole political party, and must deposit a sum equivalent to US\$200. Candidatures are retained by the Political Bureau of the MPR after its examination of recommendations sent up by local and regional units of the MPR.

In the 1975 elections, members of the Legislative Council were chosen from 38 constituencies corresponding to the city of Kinshasa and the country's sub-regions. In each, the electorate selected a number of People's Commissioners, based on the constituency's population, who appeared on the list of candidates drawn up by the MPR, each elector pronouncing himself for or against the party-list as a whole at mass rallies. Should this list not receive

II Zaire

popular approval, a second consultation is to take place within the constituency on the basis of a newly-prepared list.

Substitutes elected at the same time as titular members of the Legislative Council fill any seats in this body which fall vacant between general elections.

### General Political Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

The 1975 general elections in Zaire were the first to be held since the membership of the Legislative Council was reduced pursuant to a 1974 constitutional amendment.

In accordance with the 1975 Electoral Law, all candidates were finally approved by the Political Bureau of the *Mouvement populaire de la rivolution* (MPR), the country's only political party, on the basis of reports on individual candidates made by local and regional units of the MPR; 244 candidates were nominated.

On polling day, the electorate in each constituency endorsed, by acclamation, the final list of candidates proposed. Approval was voiced at public gatherings, which method replaced the use of ballot boxes resorted to in the past.

President of the Republic Mobutu Sese Seko reorganized the National Executive Council (Cabinet) and the Political Bureau of the MPR on February 4, 1976.

#### Statistics

# 1. Distribution of Seats in the Legislative Council

"······ "	Number
Political Group	ofgeats
Mouvement populaire de la rivolution	244
2 Distribution of March are of Paulian and	4
2. Distribution of Members of Parliament according to Sex	ļ
Men.	217
Women	. 27
	244