

PARLIAMENTARY MEETING ON THE OCCASION OF THE UNITED NATIONS CLIMATE CHANGE CONFERENCE

Copenhagen, 16 December 2009





PROGRAMME

08:30 - 18:00	Registration of participants
10:00 - 10:30	 Opening session Dr. Theo-Ben Gurirab, IPU President Mr. Thor Pedersen, President of the Folketing Mr. Mohamed Nasheed, President of the Republic of Maldives
10:30 - 12:30	 Interactive panel discussion The politics of climate legislation Panellists Mr. John Prescott, MP (UK), PACE Rapporteur on Climate Change, former Deputy Prime Minister of the United Kingdom Mr. Denis Minev, State Secretary, Amazonas State (Brazil) Mr. James Bacchus, former Member of the US Congress Senator Loren Legarda (Philippines)
12:30 - 13:00	 Briefing session Progress report on COP15 negotiations Mr. Troels Lund Poulsen, Minister of Environment of Denmark
13:00 - 14:30	Luncheon reception
14:30 - 15:15	 Keynote presentation Reflections on post-Copenhagen agenda Mr. Achim Steiner, Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme
15:15 - 17:45	 Interactive panel discussion Sharing the responsibility for the future: parliamentary oversight of government action on climate change Moderator Mr. Patrice Martin-Lalande, MP (France), President of the IPU Committee on Sustainable Development, Finance and Trade Panellists Ms. Jeanette Fitzsimons, MP (New Zealand) Mr. Eyvind Vesselbo, MP (Denmark) Mr. Saber Chowdhury, MP (Bangladesh) Ms. Makhotso Magdeline Sotyu, MP (South Africa)
17:45 - 18:00	Closing session Rapporteur Mr. Steen Gade, MP (Denmark), President of GLOBE Europe