ANNUAL 2008 SESSION OF THE PARLIAMENTARY CONFERENCE ON THE WTO

Geneva, 11-12 September 2008

Organized jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and the European Parliament

PROVISIONAL PROGRAMME

Wednesday, 10 September	
10:00 - 19:00 17:30 - 20:00	Registration of participants (IPU Headquarters) Pre-Conference session of the Steering Committee (in camera meeting, IPU Headquarters)
Thursday, 11 September	
08:00 - 18:30 09:30 - 10:00 10:00 - 10:15 10:15 - 11:30	Registration of participants Inaugural session Adoption of the agenda and other organizational issues Debate on substantive themes
Substantive theme (a)	 Looking beyond Doha Rapporteurs Mr. Carlos Carnero González, Member of the European Parliament Mr. Benedict A. Martins, MP (South Africa) Discussants Mr. Stuart Harbinson, Senior Adviser to the UNCTAD Secretary-General Ms. Billie A. Miller, former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade (Barbados) Ms. Cristiana Muscardini, Member of the European Parliament
11:30 - 13:00	Hearing with the WTO Director-General, Mr. Pascal Lamy
13:00 - 14:30	Lunch break
14:30 - 16:30	Interactive panel discussion
16:30 - 19:00	 Defusing the threat of conflicts over food and energy through trade Panellists Senator Luis Alberto Heber (Uruguay) Mr. Olivier De Schutter, Special Rapporteur on the right to food, United Nations Ms. Esperanza Duran, Executive Director, Agency for International Trade Information and Cooperation Mr. Maximo Torero, Director, Division of Markets, Trade and Institutions, International Food Policy Research Institute (USA) Continuation and end of the debate on substantive theme (a),
	followed by

Substantive theme (b) Can international trade help mitigate climate change? Rapporteurs

• Senator Pikulkeaw Krairiksch (Thailand)

•	Mr. Alain Lipietz and Mr. Paul Rübig, Members of the European
	Parliament
ъ.	

Discussant

 Ms. Vesile Kulacoglu, Director of the Trade and Environment Division, WTO Secretariat

19:00 Reception
 20:00 - 22:00 Steering Committee (in camera meeting, IPU Headquarters)

Friday, 12 September	
08:00 - 17:00	Registration of participants
09:30 - 10:30	Continuation of the debate on substantive theme (b)
10:30 - 12:00	 Dialogue with senior WTO negotiators Ambassador Crawford Falconer (New Zealand), Chairperson of the WTO Special Session of the Committee on Agriculture Ambassador Fernando de Mateo y Venturini (Mexico), Chairperson of the WTO Special Session of the Council for Trade in Services
12:00 - 13:00	Continuation and end of the debate on substantive theme (b)
13:00 - 14:30	Lunch break
14:30 - 16:30	Interactive panel discussion
	 Trade in the era of digital revolution <u>Panellists</u> Ms. Martine Julsaint-Kidane, Trade Negotiations and Commercial Diplomacy Branch, Division on International Trade in Goods and Services and Commodities, UNCTAD Ms. Aarti Holla-Maini, Secretary General, European Satellite Operators Association Mr. Fredrik Erixon, Director of the European Centre for International Political Economy
16:30 - 16:45	Amendments to the Rules of Procedure of the Parliamentary Conference on the WTO
	followed by
	Adoption of the Guidelines for relations between governments and parliaments on international trade issues
16:45 - 17:00	Closing session
	Adoption of the outcome document