



Parliamentary Meeting on the Occasion of the United Nations Climate Change Conference

Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum Glasgow (United Kingdom), 7 November 2021

Organized jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and British Group Inter-Parliamentary Union

PROGRAMME

Sunday 7 November

08:30 - 18:00 Registration of participants

09:30 - 10:15 **OPENING SESSION**

Speakers from both houses of the UK Parliament, the IPU President and BGIPU Chair will welcome participants to Glasgow and will officially open the Parliamentary Meeting at COP26. The critical role of parliaments in the COP process will be highlighted, with the intention of inspiring delegates to use their parliamentary powers to implement the outcomes of COP26.

Moderator:

Ms. Anna McMorrin MP, Member of the UK House of Commons

Panellists:

- The Rt Hon Sir. Lindsay Hoyle MP, Speaker of the UK House of Commons
- . The Rt Hon the Lord McFall of Alcluith PC, Lord Speaker of the UK House of Lords
- Mr. Duarte Pacheco, IPU President
- Ms. Harriett Baldwin MP, Chair, BGIPU

10:15 – 10:30 EXPERT OPINION I – Climate change and clean recovery

 Hon. Senator Rosa Galvez, President, ParlAmericas Parliamentary Network on Climate Change, Member of the Senate of Canada

10:30 - 10:50 GROUP PHOTO AND TEA BREAK

10:50 - 11:00 EXPERT OPINION II – Climate change and food security

 Mr. Gernot Laganda, Chief of Climate and Disaster Risk Reduction, World Food Programme

11:00 - 12:30 ADVOCACY SESSION – Parliamentary action

This session will focus on parliamentary action to reach national targets and increase government accountability. Delegates will hear from fellow parliamentarians, who will share the details of the challenges they have faced, initiatives and good practices from different countries around the world. The aim of this session is to promote cooperation and open dialogue among parliamentarians globally.

Moderator:

• The Rt Hon the Baroness Northover, Member of the UK House of Lords

Panellists:

- Ms. Caroline Lucas MP, Member of the UK House of Commons
- Mr. Rik Daems, President, Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe
- Mr. Zaid Al-Otoom, Chairman of the Parliamentary Energy Committee of Jordan's House of Representatives
- Dr. Fadli Zon, Member of the People's Representative Council, Indonesia

12:30 – 12:40 EXPERT OPINION III – Climate change and development

 Mr. Chris Law MP, Member of the UK House of Commons, International Development Committee

12:40 - 14:00 **LUNCH**

14:00 – 14:20 INSPIRATIONAL TALK

 Ms. Mary Robinson, Chair of the Elders, former President of Ireland, former United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights and founder of The Mary Robinson Foundation – Climate Justice

14:20 - 15:50 INTERACTIVE PANEL DISCUSSION - Climate finance

This interactive panel discussion will focus on climate finance, with particular emphasis on the role of parliaments in greater financing of climate activities and financing for vulnerable states to support a green recovery post-pandemic. Delegates will hear presentations from experts in the sector as well as parliamentarians with specific knowledge on these issues.

Moderator:

Ms. Harriett Baldwin MP, Chair, BGIPU

Panellists:

- The Rt Hon. Liam Byrne MP, Chair, Parliamentary Network on the World Bank and

 IME
- Ms. Graciela Camaño, Member of the National Congress, Argentina
- · Mr. Pa Jarju, Director, Country Programming Division, Green Climate Fund
- Dr. Dionysia-Theodora Avgerinopoulou, Chair of the Committee on Environmental Protection of the Hellenic Republic

15:50 – 16:00 EXPERT OPINION IV – Climate change, conflict and humanitarian assistance

 Mr. Chris Frasetto, Diplomatic Advisor to the United Nations, International Committee of the Red Cross

16:00 – 16:15 **TEA BREAK**

16:15 -18:00 THEMATIC DEBATE - Loss and damage

The debate will explore the topic of loss and damage. Speakers will assess means of measuring and addressing the unavoidable impacts of climate change. Delegates will hear first-hand both from experts working in this area and from parliamentarians from

countries most vulnerable to the impacts of climate change. Delegates will have the opportunity to debate the points raised in the presentations.

Moderator:

Baroness Sheehan, Member of the UK House of Lords

Panellists:

- Prof. Valérie Masson-Delmotte, Co-Chair, Working Group I, IPCC
- Mr. Saber Chowdhury, Member of Parliament, Bangladesh, Honorary IPU President
- Mr. Samuelu Penitala Teo, Speaker of Parliament, Tuvalu
- Mr. Maminiaina Solondraibe Rabenirina, Member of the National Assembly, Madagascar

18:00 - 18:30 **CLOSING SESSION**

Adoption of the Outcome Document and closing of the meeting. The session will be led by co-Rapporteurs, Ms. Alessia Rotta, appointed by the Italian Parliament, and Mr. Alex Sobel, appointed by the British Group of the IPU.

- Ms. Alessia Rotta, Chair of the Environment Committee, Chamber of Deputies, Italy, and COP26 Parliamentary Meeting co-Rapporteur
- Mr. Alex Sobel MP, Member of the UK House of Commons, and COP26 Parliamentary Meeting co-Rapporteur
- Mr. Martin Chungong, IPU Secretary General
- · Ms. Harriett Baldwin MP, Chair, BGIPU

18:30 - 20:00 **EVENING RECEPTION**

Evening reception hosted by Ms. Harriett Baldwin MP, Chair, BGIPU on behalf of the Executive Committee and members.