

Workshop on the role of parliamentarians in ensuring implementation of the UN Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW)

19 October 2018

SAVE THE DATE

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

The Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) is organizing a *Workshop on the role of parliamentarians in ensuring implementation of the UN Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women* (CEDAW). The Workshop will take place on 19 October, from 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m., at the IPU Headquarters in Geneva, following the 139th IPU Assembly.

The aim of this Workshop is to provide MPs an opportunity to interact among themselves and with experts on specific CEDAW provisions that are relevant to their work.

All parliamentarians, men and women, are invited to attend. Delegations from parliaments whose countries have recently been reviewed or will be reviewed in the forthcoming sessions of the UN CEDAW Committee are strongly encouraged to attend and contribute to the debates.*

The provisional annotated agenda, a practical information note and the registration form will be made available shortly on the IPU website <u>https://ipu.org/events/new-events</u>.

We hope that your delegation will be able to participate.

* Countries that have been recently reviewed:

70th Session (2 – 20 July 2018): Australia, Cook Islands, Cyprus, Liechtenstein, Mexico, New Zealand, State of Palestine, Turkmenistan

69th Session (19 February – 9 March 2018): Chile, Fiji, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Republic of Korea, Saudi Arabia, Suriname

68th Session (23 October – 17 November 2017): **Burkina Faso, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Guatemala, Israel, Kenya, Kuwait, Monaco, Nauru, Norway, Oman, Paraguay, Singapore**

Countries to be reviewed soon:

71st Session (22 October – 9 November 2018): Bahamas, Congo, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Mauritius, Nepal, Samoa, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

72nd Session (11 February - 1 March 2019): **Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Botswana, Bulgaria, Colombia, Ethiopia, Serbia, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland**

73rd Session (1-19 July 2019): Austria, Bahrain, Cabo Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Guyana, Mozambique, Qatar