



Regional Seminar on climate change and disaster risk reduction for Parliaments of the Caribbean

Organized jointly by the National Assembly of Suriname and the Inter-Parliamentary Union

Paramaribo, 5-6 November 2018

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

SPECIAL GUESTS

ADHIN, Ashwin (Mr.) Vice-President, Republic of Suriname

POLLACK-BEIGHLE, Yldiz (Ms.) Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Suriname

MOESTADJA, Soewarto (Mr.) Minister of Labour, Technological Development and Environment, Republic of Suriname

> GOPAL, Nalinie (Ms.) Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs, Republic of Suriname

PANELLISTS

(in alphabetical order)

AHMIDOUCH, Stara (Ms.)
Chief of Staff, Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU)

AVERCHENKOVA, Alina (Ms.) (video-conference)
Principal Research Fellow, Lead, Governance and Legislation, Grantham Research Institute on
Climate Change

BARRIO, David (Mr.)

Political Affairs Officer, Sustainable Development and Human Settlements Division, United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UN ECLAC)

BELLO, Omar (Mr.)

Coordinator, Sustainable Development & Disaster Unit, United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UN ECLAC)

BOYD KNIGHTS, Eileen Alix (Ms.) Speaker of the House of Assembly, Dominica

CONNORS, Celeste (Ms.) (video-message) Executive Director of Hawai'i Green Growth

> FERDINAND, Guibion (Mr.) Senator, St. Lucia

NAIPAL, Sieuwnath (Mr.) Professor, Anton De Kom University of Suriname

ONDHOWE, Robert (Mr.)

Programme Manager, Division of Environmental Law and Conventions, United Nations Environment Programme (UN Environment)

RUBIERA, José (Mr.) Member of Parliament, Cuba

SCOTT-MOTTLEY, Donna Marie (Ms.) Senator, Jamaica

SLIJNGARD, Jerry (Mr.)
Coordinator, National Coordination Centre for Disaster Relief

THOMAS, Jomo Sanga (Mr.) Speaker of the Assembly, St. Vincent and the Grenadines

TJIEN FOOH-HARDJOMOHAMAD, R. (Ms.)
President, Caribbean Regional Branch of the International Council on Archives (CARBICA)

DELEGATES

BARBADOS

HOLDER, Arthur (Mr.) Member of Parliament, Speaker of the House of Assembly

CUBA

RUBIERA, José María (Mr.) Member of Parliament GAULHIAC MORAGUEZ, Zailin (Ms.) Staff

DOMINICA

BOYD KNIGHTS, Eileen Alix (Ms.) Speaker of House of Assembly

GUYANA

SCOTLAND, Barton (Mr.) Member of Parliament, Speaker of the National Assembly HARMON, Joseph (Mr.) Member of Parliament, Minister of State HASTINGS, Dawn (Ms.) Member of Parliament, Minister within the Ministry of Communities BURKE, Anessa (Ms.) Staff

JAMAICA

SCOTT-MOTTLEY, Donna Marie (Ms.) Senator DUNN, Norman Alexander (Mr.) Member of Parliament

ST. LUCIA

FERDINAND, Guibion (Mr.) Senator

ST. VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES

THOMAS, Jomo Sanga (Mr.) Speaker of the Assembly

SURIMANE

GEERLINGS-SIMONS, Jennifer (Hon. Ms.) Member of Parliament, Speaker of the National Assembly BOUVA, Melvin (Mr.) Member of Parliament, Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly MISIEKABA, André (Mr.) Member of Parliament BEE, Marinus (Mr.) Member of Parliament ETNEL, Patricia (Ms.) Member of Parliament AFONSOEWA, Silvana (Ms.) Member of Parliament

> Member of Parliament KARTA-BINK, Ingrid (Ms.) Member of Parliament WATAMALEO, Grace (Ms.) Member of Parliament

HOPKINSON, Roché (Mr.)

NURMOHAMED, Riad (Mr.) Member of Parliament JOGI, Mahinderkoemar (Mr.) Member of Parliament SANDJON, Hans (Mr.) Member of Parliament ASADANG, Wendell (Mr.) Member of Parliament SHARMAN, Dewanchandrebhose (Mr.) Member of Parliament BREEVELD, Carl (Mr.) Member of Parliament ILAHIBAKS, Ruchsana (Ms.) Member of Parliament WANGSABESARI, Oesman (Mr.) Member of Parliament

OBSERVER PARLIAMENTARY DELEGATIONS

ARUBA

HOWELL, Alvin (Mr.)
Deputy Speaker of Parliament
SNEEK, Alfred (Mr.)
Member of Parliament
VROLIJK, Edgard (Mr.)
Member of Parliament
TEVREDEN, Hendrik (Mr.)
Member of Parliament
SEVINGER, Oslin (Mr.)
Member of Parliament
CROES, Ricardo (Mr.)
Member of Parliament
THODÉ, Julie (Ms.)
Member of Parliament

CURAÇAO

MOSES, Marilyn (Ms.)
Member of Parliament
CALMES, Rennox (Mr.)
Member of Parliament
HOJER, Meinbert (Mr.)
Member of Parliament
CONSTANCIA, Jaunta (Ms.)
Member of Parliament

OBSERVERS

UNITED NATIONS ECONOMIC COMMISSION FOR LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN (UN ECLAC)

BARRIO, David (Mr.)
Political Affairs Officer, Sustainable Development and Human Settlements Division
BELLO, Omar (Mr.)
Coordinator, Sustainable Development & Disaster Unit

UNITED NATIONS ENVIRONMENT PROGRAMME (UN Environment)

ONDHOWE, Robert (Mr.)
Programme Manager, Division of Environmental Law and Conventions

UNITED NATIONS DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM (UNDP)

MALONE, H. (Mr.)

WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

GEBRE, Y. (Mr.)

LOCAL ORGANIZATIONS

NATIONAL COORDINATION CENTRE FOR DISASTER RELIEF (NCCR)

SLIJNGARD, J. (Mr.) Coordinator

MARITIME AUTHORITY SURINAME (MAS)

RAMDASS, F. (Mr.)

REDD-plus

BIHARI, S. (Ms.)

ASSOCIATION OF SMALL AND MEDIUM-SIZE ENTERPRISES (AKMOS)

BINDA, S. (Mr.)

SURINAME MANUFACTURES ASSOCIATION (ASFA)

BILKERDIJK, W. (Mr.)

CENTRE FOR AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH IN SURINAME (CELOS)

HARLIANTO, G. (Mr.)

BANKERS' ASSOCIATION OF SURINAME

FRANGIE, E. (Mr.)

CONSERVATION INTERNATIONAL SURINAME (CIS)

GOEDSCHALK, J. (Mr.) MARHE, S. (Ms.)

WORLD WILDLIFE FUND (WWF)

GOMES, L. (Mr.)

YOUTH PARLIAMENT OF SURINAME

KONIKIE, K. (Mr.)

TROPICAL FOREST SURINAME

VAN KANTEN, R. (Mr.)

INSTITUTE FOR GRADUATE STUDIES (IGSR)

LACHMAN, S. (Mr.)

GOVERNMENT ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY COORDINATION

LACKIN, W. G. (Mr.)

NATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR ENVIRONMENT AND DEVELOPMENT IN SURINAME (NIMOS)

KROMODIMEDJO, A. (Ms.) BORGOR, D. (Mr.)

ANTON DE KOM UNIVERSITY OF SURINAME (ADEK)

NAIPAL, S. (Mr.)

AMAZON CONSERVATIONS TEAM (ACT)

PARAHOE, M. (Ms.)

ENERGY COMPANIES SURINAME (EBS)

PARMESSAR, R. (Mr.)

GREEN HERITAGE FUND SURINAME (GHFS)

POOL, M. (Ms.)

SURINAME BUSINESS ASSOCIATION (VSB)

RENTEN, B. (Mr.)

METEOROLOGICAL DEPARTMENT

SALLONS-MITRO, S. (Ms.)

NATIONAL ARCHIVES SURINAME (NAS)

TJIEN FOOH, R. (Ms.)

PUBLIC HEALTH OFFICE (BOG)

WARNER, A. (Ms.)

KAMER VAN KOOPHANDEL EN FABRIEKEN (KKF)

RAMPADARATH, P. (Mr.) GERLING, S. (Mr.) KOWSOLEA, D. H. (Mr.)

WATERLOOPKUNDIGE DIENST

AMATALIE, S. (Mr.)

FOUNDATION FOR FOREST MANAGEMENT AND FOREST CONTROL

KASANPAWIRO, C. (Ms.)

IPU SECRETARIAT

AHMIDOUCH, Stara (Ms.)
Chief of Staff
RODRIGUEZ, Roberto (Mr.)
External Relations Officer