

206th session of the Governing Council (Extraordinary virtual session) 1–4 November 2020

Governing Council Item 10 CL/206/10-P.1-rev 30 October 2020

Fifth World Conference of Speakers of Parliament

Composition and vacancies for the Preparatory Committee of the Fifth World Conference of Speakers of Parliament¹

African Group

Mr. Slimane Chenine President National People's Assembly, Algeria Mr. Haroun Kabadi President National Assembly, Chad Mr. Tinni Ousseini Speaker National Assembly, Niger Ms. Rebecca Kadaga Speaker Parliament of Uganda

One vacancy, to be filled by a female Speaker.

Candidature received from the African Group:

- Ms. Catherine Gotani Hara, Speaker of the National Assembly (Malawi).

Arab Group

Mr. Marzouq Al Ghanim Speaker National Assembly, Kuwait

One vacancy, to be filled by a female Speaker.

Candidature received from the Arab Group:

- Ms. Fawzia Zainal, Speaker of the Council of Representatives (Bahrain).

Asia-Pacific Group

Mr. Li Zhanshu Chairman National People's Congress Standing

Committee, China

Lord Fakafanua Speaker Legislative Assembly, Tonga

Two vacancies, both to be filled by female Speakers.

Candidature received from the Asia-Pacific Group:

- Ms. Puan Maharani, Speaker of the House of Representatives (Indonesia).

- African Group: Five members, of which no less than two Speakers of either sex;
- Arab Group: Two members, of which no less than one Speaker of either sex;
- Asia-Pacific Group: Four members, of which no less than two Speakers of either sex;
- Eurasia Group: Two members, of which no less that one Speaker of either sex;
- Group of Latin America and the Caribbean: Three members, of which no less than one Speaker of either sex;
- Twelve Plus Group: Five members, of which no less than two Speakers of either sex.

Allocation of seats as per the decision of the IPU Governing Council

Eurasia Group

Ms. Zinaida Greceanîi President Parliament, Republic of Moldova

One vacancy, to be filled by a male Speaker.

Group of Latin America and the Caribbean

Mr. César Litardo President National Assembly, Ecuador

Two vacancies, at least one of which is to be filled by a female Speaker

Candidatures received from GRULAC:

- Ms. Beatriz Argimón, Vice-President of the Republic, President of the General Assembly and the Senate (Uruguay),
- Mr. Manzoor Nadir, Speaker of the National Assembly (Guyana).

Twelve Plus Group

Mr. Wolfgang Sobotka President Nationalrat, Austria

Four vacancies, at least two of which are to be filled by a female Speaker and one by a male Speaker

Candidatures received from the Twelve Plus Group:

- Mr. Wolfgang Schäuble, President of the German Bundestag (Germany),
- Mr. Steingrímur J. Sigfússon, Speaker of the Althingi (Iceland),
- Ms. Tone Wilhelmsen Trøen, President of the Storting (Norway).

Representatives of the Executive Committee

Mr. Juan Pablo Letelier Chile
Ms. Pikulkeaw Krairiksh Thailand
Mr. Jacob Francis Mudenda Zimbabwe

Ex-officio Members of the Preparatory Committee

Ms. Susan Kihika President Bureau of Women Parliamentarians Mr. Melvin Bouva President Board of the Forum of Young MPs

Representative of the UN Secretary General

Ms. Tatiana Valovaya Director-General, United Nations Office at Geneva