HOME -> PARLINE -> CUBA (Asamblea nacional del Poder popular)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Asamblea nacional del Poder popular (National Assembly of the People's Power)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Asamblea nacional del Poder popular / National Assembly of the People's Power
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 3 February 2013
Purpose of elections All 612 candidates who ran for the 612 seats in the National Assembly of the People's Power were elected. All candidates were members of the Communist Party. They comprised a record 299 women (48.9%), up from 43.2%. 67 per cent of the newly-elected members entered parliament for the first time.

86-year old former President Fidel Castro, who was one of the candidates, made a rare appearance on the polling day. He pledged to "update the Cuban socialist model, modernize it, but without committing errors". He added "without the people there would be no Revolution". President Raúl Castro said that to renounce the principle of a single party would lead to the legalization of one or more "imperialist parties".

Outgoing Speaker Ricardo Alarcón de Quesada, who had held the post for over two decades, did not run in the 2013 parliamentary elections.

On 24 February, the National Assembly of the People's Power elected Mr. Juan Esteban Lazo Hernández as the new Speaker. It also re-elected Mr. Raúl Castro as President of the Council of State for another five-year term.
Date of previous elections: 20 January 2008

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: February 2018

Number of seats at stake: 612 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 612 (313 men, 299 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 48.9%

Number of parties contesting the election: 1

Number of parties winning seats: 1

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Communist Party

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 24 February 2013

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Juan Esteban Lazo Hernández (Communist Party)
Voter turnout
Round no 13 February 2013
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
7'877'906 (91.27%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union