Skip to main content
News in brief

MP of the year: The new Cremer-Passy Award


Frédéric Passy and William Randal Cremer

The IPU is pleased to announce a new prize: the Cremer-Passy prize. The prize will be awarded annually to an MP or MPs whose exceptional actions contributes to a more united, fair, secure, sustainable and equitable future.

Named after the two IPU founders, Frédéric Passy and Sir William Randal Cremer, this annual award will be given to a parliamentarian who has made an exceptional contribution as an MP.

The IPU was created in 1889, in an era when there were no established means for governments or parliaments to work together internationally. The idea of bringing together MPs from different countries had been gaining ground among pacifists in the 1870s and 80s, but until 1889 no one had seized the initiative to turn the idea into a reality. 

It took two 19th century men of vision—Englishman Cremer and Frenchman Passy—to lay the foundations for all that has followed. They set up an association of MPs which has been transformed into the thriving global organization of today. Lifelong, tireless campaigners for peace, both went on to win the Nobel Peace Prize—along with many other IPU figures. Their work led to the world’s first permanent international political organization and provided the origins for multilateral cooperation between nations today. 

Nominations are to be submitted through your Geopolitical Groups by 30 April 2022 (changed from 31 May 2022). The award will be announced on 30 June 2022 in time for the International Day of Parliamentarianism, which is also the anniversary of the IPU.

For more information watch the video below. Read the rules and regulations here.